The antecedent of IPPA was originally founded
in 1929. It was termed the Far Eastern
Prehistory Association from 1953 to 1976,
after which the name was changed to

Indo-Pacific Prehistory Association.

Objective of IPPA

  • To promote cooperation in the study of the prehistory of the Indo-Pacific region.
  • To maintain scholarly communication through regular congresses, communications, and the IPPA Bulletin.
  • To uphold ethical standards on research in prehistory.

IPPA Constitution

During the Hue conference of the Association in September 2018, Professor Philip Piper was selected by the Executive Committee as the next Secretary-General of IPPA, to replace Professor Ian Lilley, who held the position from 2009 to 2018. With this decision the President and Executive Committee finished their terms. In 2019, a new president and committee for IPPA was elected. Officers, elected by the membership, comprise a President and an Executive Committee of eight members drawn from across the IPPA region. A Secretary-General and Editor(s) are appointed by the Executive Committee.

Organization Structure

IPPA President Rasmi Shoocongdej, Department of Archaeology, Silpakorn University
IPPA Executive Committee Cristina Castillo Cobo, Institute of Archaeology,
University College London

Kate Domett, College of Medicine & Dentisty, James Cook University

Matthew Leavesley, College of Arts, Society & Education,
James Cook University

Dougald O'Reilly, School of Archaeology & Anthropology,
Australian National University

Shanti Pappu, Sharma Centre of Heritage Education

Prakash Sinha, Department of Ancient History, Culture & Archaeology, University of Allahabad

Mariko Yamagata, Department of Management,
Okayama University of Science

Yu Chong, Department of Archaeology, Sun Yat-Sen University
IPPA Secretary

IPPA Secretary-General

Philip Piper, School of Archaeology & Anthropology,
Australian National University

Secretariat Administrator

Fredeliza Campos, Research School of Humanities & the Arts,
Australian National University

Previous Secretariat
& Committees

Co-Presidents for
2018 IPPA Congress

Nguyen Giang Hai,
Vietnam Academy of Social Sciences
Phan Thanh Hai,
Thua Thien Hue Provincial Government

IPPA Past Secretary-Generals

  • Ian Lilley
  • Peter Bellwood

IPPA Executive Committee

  • Bérénice Bellina-Pryce
  • Charles Higham
  • Le Thi Lien
  • Victor Paz
  • Himanshu Ray
  • Miriam Stark
  • Glenn Summerhayes
  • Nishimura Masanari

IPPA Past Presidents

  • 2014-2018, Phon Kaseka (Cambodia)
  • 2009-2013, Nguyen Giang Hai (Vietnam)
  • 2006-2008, Willie Ronquillo (Philippines)
  • 2004-2006, Tsang Cheng-hwa (Taiwan)
  • 2000-2004, Adi Haji Taha (Malaysia)
  • 1996-2000, Pisit Charoenwongsa (Thailand)
  • 1992-1996, R.P. Soejono (Indonesia)
  • 1988-1992, Roger C. Green (New Zealand),
  • 1984-1988, V.N. Misra (India)
  • 1980-1984, Jack Golson (Australia)
  • 1976-1980, Wilhelm G. Solheim II (U.S.A.)

Vaccine guide for travellers to Thailand, please visit this website.